Scandi Love.

I have always admired the designs that the Danish and all Scandinavian designers for that matter have produced over the many decades. They continually create beautiful and in simplicity in form, never allowing design compromise function that I believe so many designers unfortunately often do. Keeping to their iconic style yet some how never looking dated or too contrived.

So to my delight I wasn’t disappointed having just spent a wonderful few days in the design meccas of Copenhagen, Denmark and Malmö, Sweden. Although I didn’t let on to my boyfriend how design focus our holiday was going to be!

Starting at the Hay House three floors of furniture, lighting and products a must see when visiting the Danish Capital. I know their products quite well, but it’s great to see all of them in room sets mixed with Vitra classics.

Hay House

Cozy room sets really helps you imagine the possibilities.

Hay House

One of my favourite products were these simple rounded hooks. These would be a perfect addition to a hall, bathroom or any room for that matter! Hoop through scarves, towels, or as indicated here, hangers for jackets. The variety of size and colours are so attractive, I want them all!

 

Wall Hooks at the Hay House

The Dane’s love their coffee and although us Brits tend to have a large collection of mugs, I loved these traditional mugs with great patterns and no handle. Perfect for a quick cortado.

P1030066

The proximity of Copenhagen to Sweden means just a hop over the water and we arrived in Malmö, where I discovered even more fabulous design stores. My most favourite had to be Bolia.com this store HAS to come to Britain soon!

Fantastic original designs, arranged over two floors showcasing stunning living, dining, sleeping room sets. Then intermixed with stunning pick up pieces arranged cleverly on framed shelves.

I wanted to explore here all day but I found there were still so many shops to explore!

 

P1030170

So many textures and colours to tantalise the senses, and no ‘showroom’ look in sight! I love it.

Colour blocking staging, so simple yet so little people would think of doing this.

P1030200

Pockets of products to peruse.

P1030188

All boxed in with these gilded framed shelves.

P1030204

I loved this print.

P1030206Dark greys, such a beautiful shade.

P1030207

Not too much walking further we come across another store Olsson & Gerthel filled with all the design classics I know and love well. But I was particularly impressed with their huge design book collection.

After stopping off in Svenssons just before closing time, we were back on the train over the bridge to Copenhagen.

Where we finalised the trip to the infamous Illums Bolighus, an entire department store dedicated to the best of Scandinavian and world design. Anything you could possibly dream of for your home under one beautiful roof I loved their abundance of textiles and vignettes of style. They can deliver all around the world, so the very best of design is literally at your finger tips.

P1030275

All in all the trip was fantastic, if you’re a design fan or even if you’re not I would fully recommend Copenhagen.

I’d love to comprise a list of the best home design shops from around the world, and with the aid of the internet everyone can get access to the best of the best, so please share your experiences.

 

All pictures and thoughts are my own.

 

